Researchers and students from the Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT), University of the Philippines Los Baños (UPLB), De La Salle University (DLSU), and Cebu Technological University (CTU) have topped the 2022 Nanosatellite Mission Ideas Contest (NMIC) of the Philippine Space Agency (PhilSA).

The NMIC is a competition opened to Philippine university students and researchers to propose mission ideas for the nanosatellite that will be designed, developed, built, launched, and operated by the ACCESS Nanosat Project team.

The competition recently concluded with the Final Presentations and Evaluation event held virtually on 28 October 2022, where the finalists presented their proposals to a panel of Filipino satellite engineers. Each team was given 12 minutes to pitch their mission idea, followed by an 18-minute Q&A and feedback session with the panel. 

The top teams–MSU-IIT’s Team COEUS, UPLB Space Satellite Research Team, DLSU’s Team GreenSat, and Team CTU Trackers–will be invited to join the ACCESS Nanosat Project team in the mission design phase of the CubeSat project, which will culminate in the Mission Design Review to be held in person in December 2022. The mission design process will refine and consolidate the proposed satellite missions to be performed by Maya-7, the country’s upcoming 2U CubeSat. 

The top teams will have the opportunity to improve and realize their mission ideas, subject to various system constraints and requirements. Once the missions are decided, mission payloads will be designed and built by the proponents at their respective universities, and subsequently integrated into the CubeSat at UP Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute (UP EEEI), where the nanosatellite development is being conducted.

Here are the winners and finalists of the 2022 NMIC:

1st Place

Team Name: Team COEUS
University: Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT)
Faculty Adviser: Dr. Jennibeth F. Gatal
Team Members: Lawrence P. Grana, Mike Martin C. Diangco, Gil P. Ramas, Jesrey Martin S. Macasero, Francis Roi L. Manabat, and Ronnalyn M. Maata
Proposal Title: Coastal Erosion Monitoring in the Philippines

2nd Place

Team Name: UPLB Space Satellite Research Team
University: University of the Philippines – Los Baños (UPLB)
Faculty Adviser: Engr. Rock Christian V. Tomas
Team Members: Reign Cyril H. De Vera, Fatima Joie U. Flores, Jed L. Soberano, John Mhel C. Policarpio, William Kevin L. Abran, and Joven M. Galliguez
Proposal Title: Project Masid: A Nanosatellite Mission for Vegetation Monitoring

3rd Place

Team Name: Team GreenSat
University: De La Salle University (DLSU)
Faculty Adviser: Engr. John Anthony C. Jose
Team Members: Robert Martin C. Santiago, Joan Baez D. Obien, Ramiel G. Deticio, and Wynnezel Wayne Naoto P. Akeboshi
Proposal Title: Agricultural Land Detection Using Multispectral Imaging and Machine Learning in a 2U CubeSat


Team Name: Team CTU Trackers (3rd Runner-up)
University: Cebu Technological University – Main Campus (CTU-MC)
Faculty Adviser: Dr. Jonathan Maglasang
Team Members: Meara Micaela Ceniza, Rau Lance Cunanan, John Cyle de Jesus, Anne Jealyn Rodrigo, and Gerreck Matt Caesar Sayud
Proposal Title: SOS Konnect: Maritime Disaster Early-Warning, and Rapid and Precise Response System

Team Name: Team Hexagram
University: Technological Institute of the Philippines – Quezon City (TIP-QC)
Faculty Adviser: Engr. Dennis Jefferson A. Amora
Team Members: John Joseph Barairo, Jan Emmanuel Betiong, Allan Aclan, Mya Vernadette Bonifacio, Ranier Grimaldo, and Patrick Lance Ladao
Proposal Title: ZOIC – Philippine Critically-Endangered Species CubeSat Monitoring and Tracking


Team Name: Team MAYARI
University: Rizal Technological University (RTU)
Faculty Adviser: Mr. Frank Fitzgerald Batin
Team Members: Prince Abraham Gacusan, Kye Laurel, Trixie Sacyaten, Rizzsa Castillo, and Renna Christine Pearl Babida
Proposal Title: TALUSI-1: Technological Advancement of LEO 2U nanoSatellite Initiative

Team Name: Team NanoLink
University: Technological Institute of the Philippines – Quezon City (TIP-QC)
Faculty Adviser: Engr. Dennis Jefferson A. Amora
Team Members: Christian Joseph R. Flores, Mark Joshua A. Mejia, Agustin A. Adallom Jr., Joshua Caleb B. Cabural, Christiana Kayla A. Remo, and Maria Carmina O. Solancho
Proposal Title: T.I.P. co-CARE (Community-based Satellite Communications for Aid and Response in Emergencies)


University: Far Eastern University – Institute of Technology (FEU-IT)
Faculty Adviser: Engr. Nino U. Pilueta
Team Members: Daryl David, Jay Anne T. Cipriano, Joey Y. Bisnar, Brandon Jake L. Valeros, and Aira Marie D. Ladera
Proposal Title: Satellite-Enabled Monitoring System with Feedback and Automated Alarm Management